skip to main content

State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of English language proficiency (ELP) to eligible students in transitional kindergarten (TK) through grade twelve. The California Department of Education (CDE) transitioned from the CELDT to the English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) as the state ELP assessment in 2018. The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards. It is comprised of two separate ELPAC assessments. One is for the initial identification of students as English learners (ELs) every Fall. The other is for annual summative assessment in Spring to measure a student’s progress in learning English and to identify the student's level of ELP.

Parent Guide to understanding ELPAC
Top of Page

View the Parent Guide to Understanding ELPAC document in your language of choice. Find links to these documents below.

Helpful videos in english
Top of Page

Introduction to Initial ELPAC Top of Page

Summative ELPACTop of Page

Helpful videos in spanish
Top of Page

Introducción a ELPAC inicialTop of Page

ELPAC sumativo - españolTop of Page